Skip to main content

BILI Committee Meeting

Notices of Meeting include information about the subject matter to be examined by the committee and date, time and place of the meeting, as well as a list of any witnesses scheduled to appear. The Evidence is the edited and revised transcript of what is said before a committee. The Minutes of Proceedings are the official record of the business conducted by the committee at a sitting.

For an advanced search, use Publication Search tool.

If you have any questions or comments regarding the accessibility of this publication, please contact us at

Previous day publication Next day publication
Meeting No. 4
Thursday, May 15, 2008

The Standing Joint Committee on the Library of Parliament met at 12:05 p.m. this day, in Room 112-N, Centre Block, the Joint-Chairs, Blaine Calkins and the Hon. Marilyn Trenholme Counsell presiding.


Members of the Committee present representing the Senate: The Honourable Senators Hon. Lowell Murray, Hon. Donald H. Oliver and Hon. Marilyn Trenholme Counsell.


Members of the Committee present representing the House of Commons: Gérard Asselin, Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Hon. Gerry Byrne, Blaine Calkins, Hon. Ken Dryden, Cheryl Gallant, Peter Goldring, Hon. Gurbax Malhi and Denise Savoie.


Acting Members from the House of Commons present: Bonnie Brown for Hon. Carolyn Bennett, Raymond Gravel for Louis Plamondon and Russ Hiebert for Mike Allen.


Associate Members from the House of Commons present: Russ Hiebert.


Other Senators present: Hon. Tommy Banks.


In attendance: Library of Parliament: Kristen Douglas, Analyst; Tim Williams, Analyst.


Witnesses: Library of Parliament: William R. Young, Parliamentary Librarian; Jacques Sabourin, Acting Director General, Parliamentary Information and Research Service; Lise Chartrand, Director, Finance and Material Management Division.

Pursuant to Standing Order 81(4), the Committee commenced consideration of the Main Estimates 2008-2009: Vote 15 (Library of Parliament) under PARLIAMENT referred to the Committee on Thursday, February 28, 2008.

William R. Young made a statement and, with Lise Chartrand, Kristen Douglas and Jacques Sabourin, answered questions.


The Co-Chair called Vote 15 under PARLIAMENT.


Vote 15 under PARLIAMENT less the amount of $32,056,750.00 granted in the Interim Supply, carried.


ORDERED, — That the Co-Chair report Vote 15, less the amount voted in Interim Supply, under PARLIAMENT to the House.


At 1:09 p.m., the sitting was suspended.

At 1:10 p.m., the Committee resumed sitting in camera.

The Committee proceeded to the consideration of matters related to Committee business.

It was agreed, — That a meeting be held on the issue of copyright with witnesses and that a friendly letter be drafted and sent to the Minister of Industry and the Minister of Canadian Heritage for consideration prior to a bill being introduced in the House.


At 1:22 p.m., the Committee adjourned to the call of the Chair.


Georges Etoka
Committee Clerk

2008/05/22 11:09 a.m.